27 December 2009

Good Old Neon

Good Old Neon is Michael Philip Smith and Jeff Lee both formerly of Up Up Down Down. Jim Lee provides additional guitar. They are joined on some tracks by former bandmate Jen Gwiazdowski, who is especially soulful on "The Age of Mechanical Reproduction."

Apart from a Radiohead cover, all the songs on the album were composed by Michael and Jeff. Their songwriting process is created to drive them to try new things and to offer them some direction. Here verbatim are some of their composition rules for this album.

  1. Write a song with a house beat.
  2. Write a song in 12-bar blues.
  3. Write a song in 5/4 meter.
  4. Write a song using only guitar noises as percussion.
  5. Write a song using Electroplankton as the primary instrument.
  6. Mike must write a song using a sample provided by Jeff.
  7. The above, but vice-versa.
  8. Mike and Jeff must write different songs using the same sample.
  9. Write a song based on a theme provided by the Postmodern Essay Generator.
  10. Write a song to accompany the pre-climax work montage of an episode of The A-Team.

Here are most of the tracks from the THIS IS THE NEWS album by Good Old Neon. In keeping with the Free Music Archive policy, covers and tracks with samples have been removed. The album is available in its entirety from the band's official website.

Cover art is by Dave Merson-Hess whose music is also presented at the WFMU Free Music Archive.

License: Creative Commons Sampling Plus License


1 comment:

  1. Good Old Neon here. Just to follow up, our second album, Radiant City, is now available for download. As always, it's free.

    We've also got sample-free versions of the album, which are mostly the same, minus a track or two.

    Thanks for listening. Support free music!


[Comment form has been problematic for years. Please take no offense, if your comment never makes it to us.]